Lady Skippers Races

The Lady Skippers' race has been a long standing race on the HBYC calendar. In recent years the HBYC Lady Skippers Race has become Race 4 in the Port Phillip Women's Championship Series (PPWCS), a series for female sailors that combines five races run by different clubs into one annual championship trophy.

In addition Yachting Victoria’s Women & Girls in Sailing Committee announced a six race series in 2015, the Port Phillip Women’s Passage Series (PPWPS).

Women and Girls in Sailing

The Women & Girls in Sailing website is dedicated to you - female sailors and potential female sailors in Victoria, whether it be in keelboats or dinghies. Its purpose is to help you get sailing, enjoy sailing and keep sailing! For more information go to:

HBYC Lady Skippers' Races

Shirley Freeman

Shirley Freeman was our first Female member and boat owner, sadly Shirley passed away in December 2014.  In 2015, HBYC announced they would honour her by renaming the HBYC Lady Skippers Race to the Shirley Freeman Memorial Race. The race will now have 2 Trophies; Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy (1st PHS boat) and the Lady Skippers Race Trophy (1st HBYC PHS Boat). We have also introduced the Suffragette Cup Race for those who just want to get out there and give it a go.

For more on Shirley Freeman Click Here

Shirley Freeman Final poster

HBYC Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy and Suffragette Cup

The Division 1 Race, which is part of the Port Phillip Womens Championship Series (PPWCS) is a HBYC Club Course of approximately nine to ten nautical miles in length. The Lady Skippers Trophy - 1st HBYC PHS Boat and the Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy - 1st PHS Boat will be awarded.

The Div 2 Race, the Suffragette Cup is a Non-Spinnaker Race aimed to encourage those Lady Skippers to sail in a race with a less competitive format. We encourage all our ladies to have a go, even if you are new to helming. Boats owners are asked to encourage our female members,friends and family to take up the helm for the day and join in the fun of the Suffragette Cup. There is a Trophy awarded on the day. This race will be a HBYC Club Course of approximately six to seven nautical miles in length.  For Past Winners Click Here


2017 HBYC Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy and Non-Spinnaker Div 2 - Sunday 17 December 2017


Notice of Race Click Here
Sailing Instructions Click Here
Course and Marks

Courses - Click Here
Mark Locations and Descriptions

Race Entry

Shirley Freeman (Spinnaker-PPWCS)

Non Spinnaker Div 2

Start Sheets / Results

Click Here


Port Phillip Women's Championship Series (PPWCS) - 2017/2018 Dates

Sunday 17 December - 100th Anniversary Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy (HBYC)

Sunday 11 February - WISC (SYC)

Sunday 18 February - Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy (RMYS)

Sunday 4 March - Val Hodge Trophy (RYCV)

Sunday 29 April - BLiSS (RBYC)

Sunday 28 May - Australian Sailing Victoria Region Keelboat Awards Presentation

Race documents

As each host club publishes the Sailing Instructions, Notices to Competitors and entry lists for their race (when available, follow the links for each race under 'Dates' above). Competitors must enter each individual race separately using the host club's entry system. Cost to enter each race is determined by the host club.  On entry to any one of the five races, competitors will be automatically scored for the PPWCS.

PPWCS Results



HBYC Trophy Winners

Year HBYC Lady Skippers Trophy Skipper Club Shirley Freeman Memorial Trophy Skipper Club Themed Cup Skipper Club
2015 Le Cascadeur Leo Eeckman HBYC Tigris Jan Fielding  RMYS Y Knot  Ann Goodwin  RYCV 
2014 Kasam Norma Malouf HBYC            


  • Club Aggregate Races
  • Join the Newsletter